Open call to the road: Niagara Falls.


I know I said in past posts that traveling will be on hold for a little while because I decided to go back to school. But who was I kidding? Like a siren’s call I crash my boat against the coast of wanderlust.

A monumental birthday is coming up in a few days and I’m not even going to pretend I am dealing with it well. Every second I am on the verge of tears knowing that soon I will be 1/4 of a century old. I don’t feel it, and I sure as hell don’t look it. I feel 17/18 years old and for the most part I look that old too. I’m also pretty sure I said I didn’t want to be in the country for my next birthday.

So what’s a better way to cheer myself up and get out of the country? Another trip.  Money is tight and so is time. I start school again in less then 3 weeks.  When I was deciding where to go Toronto was currently on a civic strike with no trash pick up, so that eliminated Toronto. A trip home to Montreal, or Buffalo, Chicago, Hong Kong and Thailand all prove to be too expensive. So I eventually decide on Niagara Falls. Close by, cheap, and able to leave the country.

“You’ve been all the way to Cuba, but you’ve never been to the falls?” My friend’s boyfriend laughed, last night at our friends’ Sarah and Steve’s buck and doe. I’ve been to the falls before. Several times actually. However the last time I was standing in the middle of some park freezing to death listening to Jeff Healy (sp) worrying if what they said will happen at Y2K will actually happen. It didn’t.  So almost 10 years has passed since I’ve been.

Now when traveling with my parents and my brother we would drive hundreds of miles to sit in the hotel for most of the time. So honestly it feels like going to falls for the first time.

I book both my train ticket on Via Rail ($31.50) and then booked my hostel ($111 for two nights, 5 min away from falls and private room) at http://www.hostel.com on the 31st of July. Then with a discount I get from work I bought the Niagara Adventure pass for almost haft off which has all the major tourist attraction included and offers discount on those that are not included.

The trip almost got canceled this week when my debit card was stolen from my purse while at work. My bank account was sucked dried before I could even report it stolen. Luckily BMO credited me back my money after filling out a butt load of paper. Work drama and the debit card thief witch hunt that is sure to follow in the days leading up to the trip I am staring at an empty suitcase and blank itinerary with no idea in high heaven what to pack or what to do….

 

Itinerary

The main purpose of this trip was to do some photography while coping with becoming ¼ of a century old (I can feel the tears now) and not wanting to be in the country for my birthday.

The things I want to do while there

  • White Water Walk (never done)
  • Whirlpool Aero Car (never done)
  • Ten Thousand Buddha Sarira Stupa (Never Done)
  • Maid of the Mist (been even longer then 10 yrs since I’ve done this)
  • Journey behind the Falls (never done)
  • Clifton Hill (Right below my hotel a must)
  • Niagara Sky wheel (never got to do the London Eye, so why not)
  • Goat Island
  • Canadian and American Falls

 

On the American side, Jennifer has recommended that I check out Honey’s Restaurant. This happens to right by an outlet mall. My kind of place.

 

Packing List:

 

Two nights, traveling light and staying at a hostel while expecting scattered thunder storms with expected temperatures of a high of 25◦ Celsius and a low of 14◦ Celsius. A bit of a packing confusion.

 

  • 2 Pairs of each underwear and bra.
  • 1 pair of shorts,
  • 1 pair of capris,
  • 1 tank top,
  • 1 t-shirt,
  • 1 pair of jeans
  • 1 windbreaker (or umbrella in lieu of jacket)
  • 1 pair of socks
  • Pajamas
  • Shampoo, Condition, hair spray, sunscreen, soap. Tylenol and pepto.
  • Toothbrush, toothpaste, hair brush with elastics.  
  • Hat?
  • Flip flops
  • Digital camera, memory cards, charger. Plastic bag to protect camera from mist from falls.
  • Reusable water bottle.
  • Daypack.
  • Roller bag.
  • Passport, Driver ID,  Bank card, Cash, Credit card
  • Train ticket, Adventuer pass print out, hostel reservations.
  • Snacks.
Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

