The next trip


It’s been a while since I last blog. With going back to school quickly coming up I have been considering the possibility of traveling while in school.

While I’ll have more time to travel with summer vacations, reading weeks, and all stat holidays off. I also won’t be working full time, and a lots of my money if not most will be going to tuition, books, transportation and what little bills I have.

However with my next trip I am quite determined to go to. On my list of 101 things to do before I am thirty-five, #12, #17 and #47 all relate to attending the Olympics in some way. While in the next ten years I’ll have two cracks at each Olympics before turning  thirty-five. However the 2010 Olympics are extra special for me. 1 they’ll be the last time we’ll see the torch bearer across the world. The next Olympics you’ll only see it in the host country. 2, It is also being hosted in my home country and in a city I haven’t visited since I was 3.

Budget

Wow, this will not be cheap.

Tickets

4 tickets: 1 opening or closing ceremony, 2 men’s hockey regular games, 1 other event will cost me roughly $332

Airfare

My preliminary search of airfare will cost between $750 and 840$ flying from Hamilton International Airport and arriving at Vancouver International Airport.

Hotel

At this moment, all hotels and hostels and other accommodations are currently blocking reservations for the period of the Olympics. So it has been hard trying to find prices. The one place who is accepting reservations, 2010 Furnished Rentals, is charging a minimal of $1100 a night. Not even if I could afford that, would I.  That is more then my rent!

I have considered couch surfing, if my cousins are unable to come and split the cost of hotels. I do have two friends who live in Vancouver. A newlywed couple, and one who lives with like 3 other roommates in a small house. Both would probably not work out well.

School

Here is the second major problem next to funding.  School.  The Olympics are from February 12 2010 to February 28 2010. My reading week starts March 1st.  I will have to either miss classes then come back for a few classes then have a week long break. Or extend my reading week by a few days and go to end games and closing ceremonies. However since they’ll able be final events tickets will be double the amount.

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The next trip

  1. Hi, interesting post. I have been thinking about this topic,so thanks for sharing. I will definitely be subscribing to your site. Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

