College Vs. Travel With A Little Olympics Thrown In


I am going to take the Oprah/ The Secret approach to this and put it out in the universe. I want to announce I have applied to be an Olympic Torch Bearer for the 2010 Olympics in Vancouver. I don’t know how anyone else feels on the subject, but to me to be one I think it would be huge and a major honor to be apart of Canadian and Olympic history. Any better and I would be an athlete competing. So here’s hoping that destiny and fate and whoever else is watching out for me has this in mind for me.

So while filling out applications to become an Olympic torchbearer I was also filling out my college applications. It’s that time again in Ontario. Well actually it’s passed that time for most students, but I am applying for a January start program so I still have a few days left. When I was senior in high school I had applied and was accepted into my programs but decide almost two weeks before the start of classes that I wasn’t ready for school and wanted to travel. Two years ago I planned to apply to college again but got as far as setting up my application and having my transcripts ready to be mailed in. 5 trips later….

Besides the highway robbery of application fees and any other random fees the Ontario college application service likes to charge and ignoring the fact that I will probably be about 5-6 years older then most of the students in my class or that my grades aren’t as high as they could have been due to the amount of slacking I did in H.S. That has been on my mind. No, it has something to do with what my mom had said when I was discussing my applications for Canadian history and my future over dinner.

“If this is what you want Jo, go for. Put all your little trips asides and do this full course. Don’t do it haft way. I want you to go all the way.”

“Wait I can’t take any more trips if I go to college?”

“You have done enough trips. Focus on doing well on this.”

“Well I can’t take one more trip before I go?”

“Well if you really feel like you need too… But you should be saving up for schooling.”

So here is my question is college the end all to travel? Is this really it? No more foreign adventures but the 9 to 5 drone. Should I travel one more time before going off to school and having to pay upwards of 10,000 a year for the next 5 years? Or do I forget college and a stable future and continue to work at a restaurant so I can continue traveling several times a year at will? Does it really haft to be one or the other?

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

