What Old is New Again.


Havana, Cuba – January 28 2009

I am back in Habana Veija again sitting in Fuente de la India next to El Capitolio. I finally visited Museo de la Ciudad. Getting there by taxi was momentary troublesome. The driver didn’t know where it was and ignored me when I told him it was in Plaza de Armas. He asked all the other taxi drivers that were waiting at the hotel then eventually agree to let me point it out to him on my map.

The museum was nice. Beautiful and well done. When you first walk in pass the admission desk is a beautiful court yard with a statue of Christopher Columbus in the center. Waddling through the court yard are two attractive peacocks. I was taken by surprise when one of the museum staff approached me asking me to exchange a $10 USD bill for her. Because US is not accepted in Cuba. I refused as I wasn’t 100% sure that what she wanted. She spoke in Spanish throwing in only a few words of English and made hand gestures. Not to mention I would have had to reach into my pants to get at my money belt to get money to exchange it.

I made my way through Calle Obispo again after I finish touring Ciudad. Glancing at the stalls of used books as I walk. It only noon on my last day and I am running out of things to do to pass time so I am not spending my last moments in my room. I’ll probably soak up the sun here some more then maybe do some more wandering.

9:30pm

Back in the hotel now. I visited the Castle/fort {Castillo de la Real Fuerza} in Plaza de Armas. It is now a naval museum with mostly scale models of ships from centuries ago. I walked down to San Francisco Plaza again. It has to be my favorite little spot in Havana. Is it wrong, that it is because it reminds me of Italy? I enjoy an ice cream cone sitting on the steps of the Lion fountain facing the church. I walked back down the street towards El Malecón ignoring the cat calls and offers of a taxi ride from a group of unlicensed taxi drivers.

havanacubajanuary2009-131

“Taxi?”
“Beautiful lady!”
“How are you?”
“Hey! Hey! Hey!”

I stopped to buy some souvenir hats from a gentleman selling them from the door way of him home. You approach the door and you see a girl lying on a gold color floral couch watching television and pass her was the door way to their kitchen where you can see their microwave.

I took another coco taxi back to the hotel. Driving down the El Malecón I’ve developed a real appreciation of how beautiful it is.

I spent the rest of the day the same way I spent the other nights since being in Cuba and that is relaxing in my room taking a nap. I bought some 4Cl bottles of Rum for some coworkers.

I leave tomorrow. Sun wing is picking me up at 5:30pm. Hotel Kohly’s check out is at 2pm. I talked to the receptionist who told me I could pay the 20 pesos for a late checkout.

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

